Tharu cultural dance

My housemate and I were on a five day road trip to Pokhara. At Pokhara we went trekking in the Monsoon, before going for a boat ride on Phewa Lake. Besides boat riding in Pohkara, we also enjoyed a visit to Davis Falls and caves, and an early morning of view the sunrise from Sarangot and a small trek to the world peace pagodaWe also had a chance to visit an elephant breeding centre and go for a jungle ride. In the evening we went for a Tharu Cultural dance at Chitwan

We  learnt a few things about the Tharu community living in this area. Most of the local Tharu people use elephant grass (Nep-khar) to roof their houses. Only a skillful person can make the roof by using the grass. This grass is water proof and it helps keep the house cool, however it needs to be replaced every year.

The Tharu were the first inhabitants of Terai. They are indigenous people and are considered malaria resistant tribe. They have been living in Teria for more than 700 years. In the past they mainly focused on fishing and hunting but today most are farmers. Most practice Hinduism.

During our trip we visited a Tharu cultural centre and were entertained by five main dances.  Many other tourists were present at the centre. The first dance was a Bhajayati dance where adults dance while beating long sticks. The second dance was Thekara and is performed using two short sticks.  Dafu dance is performed using a musical instrument made of gold skin and decorated with peacock feathers.

The fourth dance Jhumara, this dance is performed on the 13 th day after the death of a person. During this ceremony they sing holy songs in respect to the dead person’s contribution to society. We also saw a Peacock dance. In this dance a man is dressed like a woman and his dressing looks like a peacock. Fire dance, in the fire dance a man puts a fire on both sides of a long stick. The stick usually has a piece of cloth that has been dipped into kerosene on both ends. He then dances in circles following the rhythm of the music while turning the stick round. Traditionally the dance is usually performed to keep away wild animals upon seeing the fire.

We were happy to join the last dance !!!

About YAOtieno

What you see is what you get.
This entry was posted in Beauty of Nepal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tharu cultural dance

  1. rai says:

    dear …….. how are you doing this is Rai from Nepal and i have been working in kuwait @ Iraq since 2006…and i have lot’s of friend here from Africa including kenya .. they are working here in american army camp so they dont know to about Nepal and when they ask me where are you from ..yas they are not believing me as i reply them because i am looking like Chinese so they are asking so many thing about nepal,,, ….as i mention here some nepali they dont know about african people so they are asking you so many question as they ask me ……..i think this is chance for you to recognize your country and african culture ……so hope you don’t mine it …. by the way thank you for the posting picture and about nepali culture in your blog ….

    • YAOtieno says:

      Hi Rai,

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment on my blog. It is natural for us to be curious about other people who look different from us so I don’t mind it when people ask me questions. I take is as a chance to share my culture…

      I encourage you to also share with other Africans about Nepal. It is true that many think Nepal in India or China. They dont know that Nepal is found between China and India.

      I will share as much as I can avout Africa in Nepal and when i go back to my country I will also share about Nepal.

      Cheers,

      Y

  2. samir gurung says:

    Hello Nepalese best friend. Nice to see you here.I saw your writing in ekantipure.com.Hope you like Nepal. I love you and Africa especially Kenya. Here in Dubai I have so many friends from Kenya. Yap I like your hair style. By the way I am Nepalese and I want to request you that please forget bad memories of Nepal and collect nice memories. Wish you all the best in your entire life. Coz I dont know I can see your write again or not. Again thank you and love from a Nepali boy.

    • YAOtieno says:

      Hi Samir,

      Thanks for your encouraging words. I assure you that I have very good memories of Nepal. There are more friendly than unfriendly people. Thanks also for your compliment. You can read more of my writing by subscribing to my blog.

      Cheers,

      Y

Leave a Reply

